
photo credit: DeptfordJon
I’ve just recieved an e-mail from my bank telling me my account has been suspended through suspicious activity.
These are pretty common but unusually, this time they had the right bank name, anyway, I was instructed to just click on a link – pornotizzle. com…..yeah, that sure looks official.
Just looking through my junk folder, there is one from Lloyds – who I don’t bank with, telling me there is a credit waiting for me and I needed to click on the link or lose the credit. Now this is cleverer, it has a https://online.lloydstsb address in blue text, but the link is set up to go to a very unofficial web address.
This link is done in blue text, rather than where a link is automatically set at blue text
Like this – www.amazon.com
Usually, if you hover over the link, or right click you will get the address the link sends you to – on my computer, the address shows down in the bottom left of the screen. Check my link above, it looks like a link to amazon, but is actually a link to the BBC.
The thing is, people must click on these things or else they wouldn’t be sent – don’t let it be you. If you get anything from your bank, don’t follow the e-mailed link to find out, just go directly to your bank




Comments
Leave a comment Trackback